"Gourmandism is an act of judgement, by which we prefer things which have a pleasant taste to those which lack this quality." – Jean-Anthelme Brillat-Savarin

Bari Uma Ramen

My friend is going overseas for work (indefinitely) and he suggested we eat here together for his farewell. He said he will miss this ramen when he goes over to Philippines.

The sliding door is typical of a Japanese ramen shop. Once you stepped in, you are quickly filled with the fumes of the food. I really don’t like the smell of fumes. On the other hand, the food was superbly good. Skeptical of eating ramen in Singapore, this shop really changed my impression of ramen. Reasonably priced, the tonkatsu broth was surprising rich and flavourful without being too oily. I don’t usually eat the fats of char siew but my friend was so envious that my char siew was more fatty than his. So I took a bite of the fats and oh my, I can’t believe what I just ate. The fats melted in my mouth and was so so so delicious!!! I even commented that I will order a plate of tonkatsu serving the next time I come.

menu

menu

nori uma ramen

nori uma ramen

ajitama ramen

ajitama ramen

The ramen was of the correct texture and temperature. I once read about the steps of cooking good ramen and its temperature which is not an easy skill.

gyoza

gyoza

The gyoza was piping hot when served. The filling tasted perfect with the correct amount of chives not overpowering the whole gyoza’s taste. The vinegar matched them perfectly.

Gyoza  $6.50
Ajitama $15
Noriuma + egg $15.50
Green tea $1.50

Will be back for the tonkatsu! Till then, all the best my friend. It’s not goodbye. 🙂 (Quoted from Laura Pausini – It’s Not Goodbye)

Prices exclude 7% GST and 10% service charges.

Restaurant: Bari Uma Ramen
Address: 19 Tanglin Road, #B1-01/02, Tanglin Shopping Centre, Singapore 247909 (Enter from where the taxi stand is. Below Kenko.)
Tel: 6887 4484
Opening hours: 1130 am – 10 pm

Leave a Reply

