"Gourmandism is an act of judgement, by which we prefer things which have a pleasant taste to those which lack this quality." – Jean-Anthelme Brillat-Savarin

Vietnam Pho

Been to Hanoi for work purpose in November. Finally tasted their Pho (pronounced: fur). It tasted non other like our local kway tiao soup. What is different is that the soup is not oily and no MSG added. It tasted real good due to the cold weather. I added their chilli too! The first time I had it, I added in a ladle of their chilli. Wow, it was HOT, but super super shiok! Hence, the second time when I ate it, I learnt my lesson to put a little by little.

What surprised me was that the chilli was left uncovered, and on the table put cut chillies, fish sauce, lime and a big basket of raw mint, basil, coriander and parsley, which I had doubts of their cleanliness. Luckily, I didn’t had the slightest food poisoning after eating them. Our pho cost 20 000 dong (approx. S$1.50).

A little of Vietnamese:
pho (fol) = soup
bo (ball) = beef
ga (gaw) = chicken

So look out for stalls that write Pho Bo or Pho Ga to eat these!

 

Leave a Reply

